

U.S. Department of Transportation Region V 200 West Adams St., Suite 320 Chicago, IL 60606-5253

Federal Transit Administration Federal Highway Administration Indiana Division 575 N. Pennsylvania St., Rm 254 Indianapolis, IN 46204-1576

September 11, 2023

Roy Nunnally, Director **Asset Management Division** Indiana Department of Transportation 100 N Senate Ave. N925 Indianapolis, IN 46204

Dear Mr. Nunnally:

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) have completed our review of the documents necessary to make an air quality conformity finding for the Northeastern Indiana Regional Coordinating Council's (NIRCC) planning documents. The Fort Wayne Metropolitan Planning Area is within the NIRCC air quality conformity area comprised of Allen County. The need for this new conformity finding stems from a recent update to the NIRCC 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP).

Allen County is designated as Maintenance for the 1997 Ozone Standard until February 12, 2027.

Appropriate consultation and public involvement on the updated 2045 MTP was completed. The Indiana Department of Environmental Management, the Indiana Department of Transportation, and the US Environmental Protection Agency have completed their reviews and have determined that air quality conformity requirements have been met.

This conformity determination letter supersedes all previous conformity determination letters for this MPO. Therefore, FHWA and FTA affirms the following planning documents conform to air quality conformity rule requirements:

NIRCC 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (original)

NIRCC 2022-2026 TIP (including Amendments 23-131 through 23-140)

NIRCC 2024-2028 TIP (Original)

Please note that the 2024-2028 TIP has been incorporated into INDOT's current Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), therefore, the 2022-2026 TIP is no longer officially recognized by FHWA and FTA.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Erica Tait, FHWA, at 317-226-7481 or <a href="mailto:erica.tait@dot.gov">erica.tait@dot.gov</a>; or Cecilia C. Godfrey, FTA, at 312-705-1268 or <a href="mailto:cecilia.crenshaw@dot.gov">cecilia.crenshaw@dot.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

KELLEY BROOKINS

Digitally signed by KELLEY BROOKINS Date: 2023.08.31 17:37:44 -05'00'

Kelley Brookins Regional Administrator FTA Region V

cc: (transmitted by e-mail)
Dan Avery, NIRCC
Jay Mitchell, INDOT
Cecilia C. Godfrey, FTA
Anthony W. Greep, FTA
Tony Maietta, EPA
Shawn Seals, IDEM

Sincerely,

Jermaine R. Hannon Division Administrator FHWA Indiana Division